Old Brick Path

When the children were much, much younger I was very proud of myself because I made a brick path from the lawn to their play-house.  However, when I recently changed the shape of the lawn the path didn’t reach it anymore.  Moreover after nearly twenty years the original path was looking a little the worse for wear.

compost heap and path 005.JPG

So today I decided to start again.  I lifted all of the old bricks.  I was delighted to be able to get to the roots of all of the weeds that have been so difficult to reach!

compost heap and path 009

I redug the foundations.

compost heap and path 008

Then I arranged the bricks on the lawn to make sure I had sufficient to make a path of the required length.

Finally I washed all of the bricks.  Some were a bit the worse for wear after so long being a path.  I hope that next week I will be able to finish making my new ‘old brick path’.

Leave a comment